University of Toronto

University of Toronto

University of Toronto is a public research university, situated on the grounds that surround Queen’s Park. It was founded by royal charter in 1827 as King’s College and it was the first institution of higher learning in the colony of Upper Canada. The institution assumed the present name in 1850. Today it comprises twelve colleges that differ in character and history, each retaining substantial autonomy on financial and institutional affairs. The University of Toronto has two satellite campuses located in Scarborough and Mississauga.

The University of Toronto is noted for influential movements and curricula in literary criticism and communication theory, known collectively as the Toronto School.

Historically, the University of Toronto was the birthplace of insulin and stem cell research, and was the site of the first practical electron microscope, the development of multi-touch technology, the identification of Cygnus X-1 as a black hole, and the theory of NP completeness.

Toronto ranks highly in global rankings and is consistently ranked first in Canada.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *